57 Images latest draft

80-odd pages into my latest draft of 57 Images Of My Father. Working on it for the Inside Out competition I’ve posted about earlier.

The festival wil show a ten minute extract of all 7 selected writer’s work.  I’ve decided my extract section I think but reserving judgement until I get to the end of the draft. Chosen a section that has high energy and has the comic aspects that are an important element of what is quite an esoteric idea. The set-up’ll need some explanation though. I was going to go from the first ten minutes as that is also comic and would have provided some of the exposition but think the new extract selection will be better for the audience to enjoy. Whatever section will be out of context so might as well go with one that pushes the actors and will be fun to play with for all involved in setting up the extracts.

I’m at the stage where I need to print the draft out as I’m struggling to see the shape now. I’ve got a beats treatment and am working to that but need to get the shape of the entire thing so I can then have some time next week working to the Friday delivery and I need to to do that on paper. There is no requirement of the scheme to have an entire new draft but that’s what i’m doing. Spent most of my time trying to focus the ‘journey’ of the two main characters and feel there’s a definite improvement.

anything to say about this post?

